The Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago is accredited by the Commission on Accrediting of the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada (ATS) and the Higher Learning Commission (HLC). The following degree programs are approved: Master of Divinity, Master of Arts in Ministry, Master of Arts, Doctor of Ministry, Master of Theology, and Doctor of Philosophy. In addition, the following extension site is accredited: Sigtuna, Sweden (D.Min.). 

Both ATS and the HLC completed comprehensive accreditation evaluations of LSTC in March 2017. LSTC was reaccredited by ATS. The next ATS comprehensive evaluation is scheduled for 2024. LSTC’s accreditation was affirmed by HLC in November 2019. The next HLC comprehensive evaluation is scheduled for the 2023-24 academic year.


Patti DeBias, Assistant to the President
Email: pdebias@lstc.edu
Telephone: 773.256.0728

The Association of Theological Schools
10 Summit Park Drive
Pittsburgh, PA  15275
Telephone: 412.788.6505
Website: www.ats.edu

The Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street
Suite 7-500
Chicago, IL 60604
Telephone: 800.621.7440
Website: www.hlcommission.org

Back to top